A Case for Staying In On Saturday Night

It’s beautiful Saturday night, and as the rest of this city is putting on lipstick, strapping on sandals and spraying on some cologne to hit the town, I have decided to spend my evening indoors. It’s the first time in a long time that I’m home on Saturday night, and I absolutely love it. I’m not sure why more people don’t do this. 

Saturday nights have always been such a priority. Something about being young and in the city that puts so much pressure on your Saturday evenings. “What do you mean you are staying in?!” texted one my friends earlier in the day. What I “mean” is, I’m sitting on my couch, pouring a glass of wine, listening to Etta James and reading tonight.. Sure, maybe you think it’s kind of sad, but truly some “me time” is the best time. Saturday night is so overrated, especially if you are single. For some reason, it’s inexcusable for you to stay in on a Saturday night…ever. Sure, I will miss out an opportunity to meet someone new, or make new memories with my friends over 3 or 4 whiskey gingers. The beauty of Saturday nights are in its possibilities to be “the best night ever” and most times making that possibility a reality can be exhausting.

And, this is why I’m throwing in the towel tonight. I feel like I’m officially transitioning into adulthood by being perfectly okay with staying in and waking up early on Sunday mornings to go for a run. To be honest, everything around me seems quieter, and so peaceful. I feel happier knowing that on Monday morning I will be well rested for the week. That’s another thing going out so often eats away from your productivity and sleep. Two things that become so much more valuable as an adult.

Anyway, I feel like I’m ranting. But truly, I think everyone should try staying in on Saturday nights every once in a while. It’s good for you, your soul and perhaps even your wallet. 

Track on Repeat: Sunday Kind of Love – Etta James 

One thought on “A Case for Staying In On Saturday Night

Leave a Reply

